Ross Yeoman Memorial Handicap


By Ian Fromholtz

The Warragul Cycling Club held the annual ‘Ross Yeoman Memorial Race’ on Sunday.

This is a handicap race held on a very demanding 24 km circuit around the Neerim South-Jindivick area.

Riders who were not race fit and had not done all the necessary training that is required for such an event found the course just too tough and quite a few riders pulled out.

Juvenile riders raced over one lap.

Brett Williams off scratch outrode his co-scratch man Dale Lester on the last hill and took out line honors and fastest time.

Dale took out second and Mathew Miller third.

The senior race was over three laps (72 km) and was won by limit man Grubb Melnyk.

Grubb is relatively new to the cycling game but obviously takes his training and general fitness level very seriously.

Fastest time was taken out by scratch man Rob Kypriotis.  Both Grubb and Rob represent the Latrobe Valley Cycling Club.  Wayne Proud (8 mins) rode well for second place.  Rob Farquharson (3 mins) came in third and Rob Kypriotis fourth. Veteran rider Dave Redman fifth and Warragul’s

Jeff Thomson rode well to get sixth.

Trophies were presented after the race by Mrs O’Shea and cyclists enjoyed a fine afternoon tea in front of a welcoming open fire.

Warragul cyclists have their club titles on Sunday July 29 at 1.30 pm on the Burke Street circuit.

All cyclists who wish to compete in a really tough race against the best cyclists in Australia should enter the State test races to be held in Warragul on August 11 and 12.

Back to race list