Luke Yeatman Claims Handicap Victory


By Ian Fromholtz

The savage west winds that have plagued cyclists for several months now, but were thankfully absent last Saturday, returned with a vengeance for this Saturday’s club race held by the Warragul Cycling Club.  The, winds however did not deter a dedicated group of juvenile cyclists from racing over an 11 kilometre course.

New rider Luke Yeatman (scratch) won his first race with the Warragul club despite having mechanical trouble and having to chase down the bunch.  Well done Luke!

Second was the ever improving Scott Byers (limit), third Julian Kennedy, fourth Matthew Miller and fifth Travis Fromholtz (all scratch).

The senior race was held over three laps (33 k) and was won by veteran rider Ian Fromholtz, from Sara

Hill with Tim Moore third, Paul Yeatman forth, all from the eight minute bunch.

Fastest time was taken out by scratch man Tim Eerhard.

Good rides were put in by Alan Hauxwell and Brian Miller.  Alan was joint winner of the summer series and is returning to, cycling after a short break to play pennant golf.

Warragul cyclists have their club championships on Sunday July 29 at the Burke St circuit at 1.30 pm.

There will be club racing as usual next Saturday.

Warragul cyclists con­tinued on their winning way at Maffra on Saturday where they competed in the “Gippsland Road Titles”.

In the “Juvenile Two” race over 20 kilometres, top Warragul riders Brett Williams and Dale Lester came first and second respectively.

The “Juvenile One” race over 40 kilometres was won by Warragul’s Wayne Kestle.  Wayne broke a gear cable at the start, and had to “spin” small gears for the entire race.  Keen sport watchers should take note of the name Wayne Kestle, he is a champion in the making.  Luke Ryan (Leongatha) came second, Chris Hole (Sale) third and Scott Foster (Warragul) fourth. Brad Lester of Warragul had an “off day” and could not manage a place.

The senior race was won by Warragul’s Phillip Gallagher.  Phil was Gippsland road champion last year and successfully defended his title this year.  Phil is the top Gippsland rider and many expect him to compete overseas as a representative of Australia sometime in the future.  Warragul club is proud to have him as a member.

The senior race was held over 80 kilometres and riders had to battle strong winds.  A “breakaway” formed with five riders working hard. Brian O’Donnell (Sale) was second and Tony Hemming (Leongatha) was third.

The TV8 Gippsland cyclist of the year series continued at Leongatha on Sunday.

In the “Juvenile One” race Warragul riders completely dominated the event.

Wayne Kestle came first, Brad Lester second and Scott Foster third.  Brad Lester came very close to beating Wayne Kestle in this race.  Brad would be very pleased with this effort especially after his “off day” on Saturday.  Another Warragul rider -John Salton had a big win.  John won the senior “B” grade event over 50 kilometres, well done John!

In the “A” grade senior race held over 85 kilometres, Warragul riders did well but did not place in the first four.  Warragul’s Phil Gallagher and Jeff Thom­son came fifth and sixth respectively.

Jeff and Phil are past winners of this award.

How much training do these riders do?  Well after racing 85 kilometres Jeff and Phil rode back to Yarragon through the hills in strong winds, giving them about 150 kilometres for the day.  Phil Gallagher will do another 200 kilometres on Tuesday, plus shorter rides in the afternoons for the rest of the week.

Racing continues next weekend.

On Saturday the “Mirboo North Mountain Race” takes place and on Sunday the Victorian Time Trials will be held.

Back to race list