John Salton this Year’s Club Road Champion


By Ian Fromholtz

All sportspeople at sometime   in   their sporting career aspire to be a Champion. Some reach the exalted heights of “world champion” others   are   champions of their country region or state. Although few of us ever reach these lofty goals, the very creditable title of “club champion” is an obtainable ambition for those sportspeople who are willing to do the required training and make the many sacrifices that are needed.  Warragul Cycling Club has five new club cham­pions.

These five riders had “what it takes” on the day and out rode or outsmarted their competitors. The new champions are

  • Brett Williams – juvenile two.
  • Scott Foster – juvenile one
  • Sue Van Derveen -women
  • Tim Eerhard – juniors.
  • John Salton – seniors

The Warragul Cycling Club   congratulates   these five   riders on   their   fine performances.

In the juvenile two race.  Brett Williams out sprinted Dale Lester with Mathew Miller third.

The juvenile one race saw a very spirited sprint by Scott Foster and Brad Lester.  Scott won by a very small margin, with Scott Byers third.

Sue Van der Veen had an easy win in the women’s race.

Tim Eerhard likewise had a comfortable win in the juniors with Paul Yeatman out sprinting   Tim   Moore for second place.

The senior race saw the main bunch staying together for the entire race minus a few riders who were not race fit.  Top sprinter John Salton selected his sprinting gear and wound it up in the last 100 meters, perhaps expecting more challenges but only young Gavin Noble went with him, while Gavin came second and Geoff Thomson third.

Thanks to the many volunteers and race committee for a well run championship.

Back to race list