Cy Monk Wins 2 Championships


By Rob Monk

It was Championship Weekend for the Warragul Cycling Club. On Saturday the club road championships were we held at the Lardner Circuit. On Sunday the Gippsland Road Championships were held at Willow Grove.

In the Open Championship race a small field consisting of Cy Monk, Jayden Manintveld and Jarryd Jones fought out a tight and technical race. The trio turned into the finishing straight together and no-one wanted to be the first rider to sprint for home into the strong head wind. Finally with 100 meters to the finish Cy jumped for home and was able to just hang on over a fast finishing Jarryd. Sixteen year old Cyrus became one of the youngest ever winners of the open club championship. Jarryd was second and Jayden third.

In the masters 123 race Brett Rollinson and Glen Marriott managed to crack the rest of the field on the tough Torwood Topiram Rd climb. Jason Dastey and Stuart Battley chased hard but were not able to reel them in. Brett took the opposite tactic to the open riders. He blasted for home from the bottom of the final climb on Burnt Store Rd and made sure Marriott would have to be stronger and faster to be beat him. Marriott didn’t have the strength to hand on and Rollinson took the win. Dastey was third.

Masters 4+ had the largest field of the day. A steady tempo up the climb on lap one saw only a few riders dropped. Graeme Parker saw some weakness though and attacked the bunch near the top of the climb. He soloed off the front and when Pete Finlayson bridged to him the race was on in earnest. The chasing bunch of 6 riders worked hard but could not bridge the gap. Parker timed the sprint well to take the win as Finlayson over geared the finish and struggled to keep the pedals turning over. A short time later Geoff Thomson just got over the top of George Tambassis to take out third.

The women’s race was dominated by Kate Prestidge. She left the others behind on the climb and rode solo to victory doing a lap and a half on her own. Lou Clark and Rachel Dawson worked hard to chase her but could not bridge the gap. Lou took second from Rachel. Adele Whelan took out the masters 3+ title with Robyn Baker in second.

Cy Monk and Jarryd Jones backed up on Sunday for the Gippsland Road Title. The finishing order was the same only this time Cy and Jarryd were competing against the best riders from Wellington, Bairnsdale, Leongatha and Latrobe City Clubs. Cy finished first and Jarryd second. Michelle Scurr won the Gippsland Women’s Title from Jackie Parsons (Wellington) and Robyn Barker after coming second in round 2 of the Masters Time Trial series in Paraparap the day before.

Back to race list.