New Rider Robert Dean Wins Handicap


There was a very good attendance of riders at Warragul Cycling Club’s handicap races at Burke Street on Saturday.  First time rider Robert -Dean took out first place points (off. 14 minutes) over Gerald Kennedy (off 10 minutes; who rode an excellent race right to the line to take second place over John Dixon (off seven minutes).

A scratch bunch of four riders left the start in a chase for a bunch of five riders (off one minute).  After a 15 kilometre chase, scratch riders caught; three riders, with two riders, Graeme Hanks and Paul Rowse, taking off giving the scratch men some-thing to chase for right up to the 26 kilometre point of the race, where they were caught by Glen Beveridge and John Salton.  A bunch of riders sprinting to the line saw John Salton outride Glen Beveridge to lake the fastest time of 45 minutes, 10 seconds.

The juveniles saw Julian Kennedy riding an excellent race, taking first place points over Travis Fromholtz second, and Neil Parke taking third place over four laps of a  three kilometre course, starting from the netball courts,. Burke St, Warragul.


Seniors: first Robert Dean (14 min), second Gerrard Kennedy (10 min), third John – Dixon (seven min).

Points after six races of a nine race summer series Allen Hauxwell 10 points, Paul Yeatman 10 points, Tim Moore eight points and  Geoff Thomson, Peter  Finlayson, Gerrard Kennedy and Russ Walker all seven points.

Juniors:  first Julian Kennedy, second Travis Fromholtz, third Neil Parke.

Points: Shane Dwyer 13, Neil Parke 12, Troy Boote 10.

All new riders are welcome.  Juveniles start at 1.30 pm and seniors at 2 pm at the Burke St netball courts.

Back to race list