First time rider Matt Pearsall Wins Handicap


30 riders

Thirty senior riders faced the starter in the Warragul Cycling Club race on Saturday day.

First time rider Matt Pearsall rode an excellent race taking out first place from Paul Yeatman, both riding off the 12 minute bunch.  Tony Clark, riding from the four minute mark, finished strongly to snatch third place from Sandra Boote.  The scratch bunch consisting of nine riders was split in half in the early stages with David Redman of Morwell forcing the pace.

An exciting sprint to the line saw John Salton outfoxing his co-scratch men and out sprinting Glen Beveridge to take out the fastest time with an average speed of 38 km/h over the demanding 28.3 km circuit.

Shane Dwyer is continuing to dominate the junior racing with yet another marvellous win.  Shane, riding from scratch, powered his way through the field and completed the race ahead of Dale Lester who was having his first ride for the year.  The consistent Brent Boote dashed to the line taking out third place.

The Warragul Cycling Club is thrilled with the number of new riders wanting to compete.  A total of seven first time riders entered the race.  The races are ‘handicapped’ so every competitor has a chance to win no matter what their ability.

The venue is at the net-ball courts in Burke St starting at 1.30 pm for juniors and 2 pm for seniors.


Seniors: 1st Matt Pearsall (12 min); 2nd Paul Yeatman (12 min); 3rd Tony Clark (four min); fastest time John Salton 45 min 06 sec.

Juniors: 1st Shane Dwyer (scratch and fastest time); 2nd Dale Lester (3 min), 3rd Brent Boote (3.5 min).

Back to race list