Heat Didn’t Stop Sandra


by Glen Beveridge

Victory has finally come the way of Sandra Boote in the seventh event of the Warragul Cycling Club’s Summer Series.  Sandra rode extremely well in Saturday’s heat on a bike she shares each Saturday with her son Brent, who rides in the juvenile event.  Russ Walker rode very strongly by himself to come in second and Barry Dwyer third.

Race times were down a little on last week due to the heat.

Fastest time was taken by Phil Gallagher, the 1989 TV8 Gippsland Cyclist of the Year, in a time of 45 mins 10 sees, mostly on his own.  Phil has finished his track racing for this season a bit earlier than usual and now has his sights set on a successful road season beginning with the Warragul Autumn Combine on March 25.

Points for the summer series are Alan Hauxwell and Paul Yeatman in the lead on 11 points, Russ  Walker taking over second with 10 points and Tim Moore on nine points.

In the juvenile series event, Glen Parke (four minutes) rode his fastest time ever to record his first victory in the series and a $5 voucher donated by Active Outdoor Sports.  Second home was Grant Western followed by Brett Williams, both off one minute, 30 seconds.

The juvenile points situation is Shane Dwyer still leading on 14 points. Neil Parke on 12 points. Brett Williams and Troy Boote are sharing 11 points.

Two of Warragul Cycling Club’s bright hopes for the future Brad Lester and Wayne Kestle have been racing the track throughout the summer all over Victoria.  After only 12 months since startling racing with Warragul Brad and Wayne  have become among the top juveniles in Victoria.

Both have had good results in the Leongatha carnival and at Northcote velodrome where they race regularly against the best riders in Victoria.  The success of Brad and Wayne has rubbed off onto the other Warragul juveniles and now we  regularly get  10 or  more riders each Saturday.

As a reminder to all riders, two bike computers worth $80 each have been donated by Active Outdoor Sports, one for the juvenile series and one for the senior series.  Next week’s racing starts at 1.30 pm for  juveniles and 2 pm for seniors at the Burke St netball courts.

Back to race list