Summer Series Cycling Finale


A total of 47 riders faced the starter in the final race of the Warragul Cycling Club Summer Series on Saturday.

The blustery conditions kept the times relatively high and made conditions fairly testing.

In the juvenile race, which is for riders under 16, Troy Dwyer held on to record a well earned win from Troy Boote with Neil Parke finishing third.  Fastest time was recorded by lone scratch-man Shane Dwyer.  Shane’s time of 21 minutes was a full minute slower than last week, indicating the difference the conditions made.

The senior race was dominated by the second limit bunch off 18 minutes, which combined well to keep the chasing field at bay.  In the final lap, Mark Revitt-Mills rode away from the others in his bunch and won, crossing the finish line with both arms in the air in the classic salute to the judges.  Tim Shanahan was second and veteran Vic Spunner third.  Fastest time was recorded by Graeme Hanks from the one minute bunch. This is the second time Graeme has ridden fastest time off one minute, a feat normally achieved by the scratch riders, and he can look forward to spending quite a bit of time off the “honour mark” of scratch.

The juvenile series was won by Shane Dwyer with Neil Parke and Troy Boote sharing second, followed by Travis Fromholtz.

The   senior   series   was won by Paul Yeatman and Alan Hauxwell who could lot be separated by a count back, followed by Russell Walker and Tim Moore.

The winners of both series received a cycle computer donated by Geoff Quirk from Active Outdoor Sports.

The club is delighted with the success of this year’s aggregate series which saw a total of 72 different riders compete at least once in the nine week period.  With the exception of Troy Boote in the juveniles, all placegetters in the series were first year riders with the Warragul Club.  It is encouraging to see a few more lady riders turn­ing up to have a go and it is hoped that this trend will continue.

1990 Summer Aggregate Winners

A coaching clinic for all riders will be held at the normal time of 1.30 pm at Burke Street next week.

On Sunday, the first of the club’s autumn combines will be held starting at the Cloverlea Primary School at 9 am.  Large fields are expected for these races which will be graded scratch races Down to D grade, as well as juvenile A and B grade.  Racing is restricted to riders with VCF or LVW licences.

Back to race list