Gallagher Wins Gippsland Hillclimb

May 1991

By Ian fromholtz

Phil Gallagher won his third consecutive Gippsland hillclimb championship on Sunday. Phil had to outsprint Dave McFarlane in a Eight finish to win the championship.

The Gippsland hillclimb championship is arguably the hardest race in the Gippsland road series, and although the race in only 60 kilometres long, it contains some of the hardest hills in the area

Dave McFarlane was second, Jerone Walters third, Glen Trevorrow fourth, Geoff Fletcher fifth and Warren Mead sixth.

Warragul riders John Salton and Paul Rowse were 11th hand 12th  respectively.

Tim Eerhard won his second hillclimb championship in a row for B grade and Ian Fromholtz was second.

Juvenile riders also got into the act and although they raced over a different circuit, they had to conquer a difficult climb from Noojee to Neerim Junction.

Brett Williams won juvenile one from Stuart Cuckson, and Travis Fromholtz won his first Gippsland title when he won juvenile two.

Local Racing

New rider to Warragul, Gerry Hans narrowly beat another new rider Kevin Gannon in the Warragul Cycling Club’s 30 kilometre handicap race at Nilma North on Saturday.  Paul Yeatman was third, Mike Goyne fourth and John Salton fifth and fastest time.

Brett Williams won the juvenile race and also took out fastest time.  Scott Byers was second, Travis Fromholtz third and Damion Jarrard fifth.

Mike Goyne still leads the point score with 32 points, Paul Yeatman has moved up to second spot on 23 points and Peter Fin-layson is third on 22 points.

Travis Fromholtz leads the juvenile point score with 40 points from Stuart Cuckson with 31 points.  Brett Miller is third on 30 points and Brett Williams and Scott Byers both have 28 points.

Melbourne to Warnambool

Warragul club members also raced at Ballarat on Saturday and Sunday. Phil Gallagher was eighth.  It takes a certain dedication to the sport of cycling to race like that then drive home and race the following day in a hiilclimb championship.

Wayne Kestle was second in the juvenile road race on Saturday at Ballarat.

Results from Sunday’s racing at Ballarat were not available in time for inclusion in this article.

The next meeting on Tuesday week at the clubrooms will be the general annual meeting, please make an effort to attend this important meeting.  In future, the club handicap racing will commence at 1.30 pm, the same as juveniles. This will enable scratchmen to get away by 2 pm.  Fading light and longer races necessitates the earlier start time

Back to race list