Warragul Cycling


By Ian fromholtz

Some of Gippsland’s best cyclists competed against each other in the Ross Yeoman memorial handicap race at Jindivick on Sunday.  Dave Collins broke away from his fellow four minute men and put in a good turn of solo riding to hold off the scratch bunch and win the race.

The scratch bunch, consisting of Phil Gallagher, Geoff Fletcher, Glen Trevorrow and Chris Joustra never really made the most of the fairly liberal handicapping they were given.

Geoff Fletcher put the pressure on the last long hard hill before the final line and found some of the scratchmen waiting. Chris Joustra dropped off and failed to finish, Phil Gallagher fell behind and eventually finished fifth. Geoff Fletcher came in second and took out fastest time honors, while veteran rider Dave Redman (two minutes) rode well to claim third place and Mat Hose (four minutes) was fourth.

Club Racing

Peter Finlayson won the 30 kilometer handicap race run by the Warragul Cycling Club on Saturday afternoon.  Glen Beveridge was second, John Salton third and Brad Lester fourth.

Brett Williams won the juvenile race from Stuart Cuckson and Carl Boomsma.

The point score has now really closed up with Mike Goyne on 44 points just one point ahead of Peter Finlayson on 43 points and Paul Yeatman third on 40 points.

The juvenile point score is equally close with Travis Fromholtz on 53 points, Stuart Cuckson 49 points and Brett Williams 48 points.

Brian Miller rode well on Saturday to come home in fourth position in the VCF Lang Lang veterans race over 63 kilometers.

Nest Saturday the club will hold graded scratch races at Nilma North. A and B grades will race for 60 kilometers and C grade for 40 kilometers.

The following week the club will run the club championships at Nilma North.

Back to race list