An In Form Goyne Wins Handicap


By Ian Fromholtz

The Warragul Cycling Club, in conjunction with Geoff Quirk of Active Outdoor Sports, held its first mountain bike race on Sunday morning.  The circuit chosen for the event was at Elton Road, Neerim and covered seven kilometres of very demanding terrain.  All competitors were forced to walk up several steep hills and there were numerous spills.

Roger Vansittart took out the dubious honour of receiving the trophy for “best stack”.

In the juvenile class, Brad Clark just pipped Mathew Milter on the line with Chris Kelly third.

The novice class saw Chris Jones the victor over Roger Vansittart with Kirk Copelin third.

In the expert class, club president Paul Rowse won from Greg Spencer and Colin Aitken

The club hopes to hold regular mountain bike races and extends a welcome to anybody interested in this form of cycling to join the club.

Regular Racing

On Saturday afternoon the club held its usual club race at Nilma North.

Mike Goyne continued on with his good form to win the 30 kilometre handicap event.  Grubb Melnyk was second with Geoff Thomson third and John Salton fourth and fastest time.

Geoff Thomson has just returned to racing after 12 weeks off the bike after suffering a debilitating illness.

Brett Miller proved too strong in the juvenile race and won from Stuart Cuckson with Travis Fromholtz third and Damion Jarrard fourth.

Mike Goyne has a handy lead in the point score; Mike has 63 points, John Salton 54 points, Paul Yeatman 53 points and Brad Lester 47 points.

Travis Fromholtz still leads the juvenile point score but Stuart Cuckson is closing in fast.  Travis has 81 points, Stuart 79 points, Brett Williams 72 points and Brett Miller 63 points.

Next Saturday the club will hold an individual 10 kilometre time trial at Nilma North.

Back to race list