Kestle Bags Under 19 ITT State Title


By Murray Fenwick

Another gold medal was won by champion junior cyclist Wayne Kestle as he stormed home to take out the Victorian under 19 road time trial championship at Bayles on Sunday.  Wayne won the event by 45 seconds averaging over 46kph in testing conditions.  His win confirms his place as one of Victoria’s top cyclists, a position that will be tested to the fullest later this year in Perth.  Aaron Nobelius raced to a credible seventh in the event coming in just over a minute off the pace but still holding off some of Victoria’s best in a time just over 39 minutes,

Marion Ophof and Debbie Williams rode well in the ladies event, as did Travis Fromholtz in the junior under 17 division.

Another winner on the weekend was Melissa Aarts who held on strongly to win the 38 kilometre club handicap over scratchman Geoff Thomson in a time of 1.22.45.  Melissa and fellow limit marker Stephen Fenwick worked together until Aarts lost the youngster over Christie’s Road.  The 11 minute men of Jason Boxall, Scott Keeble and Ian De Bruyne gained valuable time on the limit markers despite losing Ted Dunn early on.

Triathlon superstar David Cairns, Dale Grant and Peter Bailey off six minutes struggled to work together and also lost a man early on in Bailey.

Graeme Hanks, Ian and Travis Fromholtz and Paul Yeatman made good gains on the other riders and although dropping Ian Miller only lost 30 seconds to the scratchmen in the first lap.

The scratchies of Geoff Thomson, Aaron Nobelius and Murray Fenwick didn’t gain much time over the first lap but as the other bunches tired, Thomson took over.  He not only caught the bunch in front but attacked it.  Coughing and spluttering all over the headstem, Thomson reeled them in one by one and only missed Aarts by a mere 15 seconds, his net time was 1.03.01.

After dropping Keeble and De Bruyne, and then being picked up by Cairns, Boxall showed great tenacity and fight to stay with the hardworking Cairns.  His doggedness paid dividends as he shot out from behind the triathlctes wheels like a little Chippolini to take out third only 40 seconds off the winner.

Fifth went to Grant who only just held off the fast finishing Nobelius, Hanks and Travis. Fenwick, Keeble and De Bruyne came in just off the pace.

Yeatman, Bailey and Ian Fromholtz battled on to finish in solo efforts after losing contact with their respective bunches.  Dunn, despite illness, fought on to finish eight minutes behind the winner.

Members are reminded of tonight’s annual meeting to be held at the club rooms at 7.30 pm.

Back to race list