Corkran takes Double


Stuart Corkran took the spotlight at Warragul’s double-header cycling event on Saturday.  He won the time trial and then went on to prove that it was no fluke in winning the Criterium that followed in his best form ever.

The top 10 rides in the time trial were; 1. Stuart Corkran 4.08.74, 2. Murray Fenwick 4.09.45, 3. Geoff Thomson 4.16.54. 4. Darren Spiteri 4.16.66, 5. John Salton 4.23.72, 6. Paul Yeatman 4.23.91, 7, Chris Joustra 4.28.22. 8. Dale Grant Matt Hall 4.36.71, 10. Paul Rowse 4.38.26.

The surprise result was that of Matt Hall who easily beat the time of the riders in his grade and set a time that was very close to that of the A grade riders.

The A grade Criterium was a fairly slow one with a lot of watching and riders continuously attacking off the front of the bunch.  The Latrobe Valley riders provided much of the action with Corkran and Joustra leaping off the front on numerous occasions.  The race came together in the last lap with Spiteri leading out in the sprint until Joustra decided to make a long run to the line.  He was quickly rounded up as Thomson stormed passed to take the lead only to be passed again by Corkran who comfortably held onto that lead to the line.  Spiteri finished third with Fenwick fourth and Joustra fifth.  Salton and Rowse finished just off the pace with Yeatman rolling through for eighth.

A reshuffling of grades left the B grade event wide open with the two young riders Stephen Fenwick and Danial Dilger riding extremely well in the more experienced field.  Ross Henry was the eventual winner as he managed to hold off a determined Scott Keeble to the line with Matt Hall a close third. Stephen finished fourth with Peter Bailey fifth, Dilger sixth and Anthony Vogrig seventh.

The C graders couldn’t quite keep up with the pace of the B grade field and were dropped early on in the race.  Tedd Dunn finished first ahead of Vic Spunner and Colin Keeble.

Michael Maunder easily won the junior event after easily taking out the time trial, and the sprint race that followed.  He shows potential that he could be a good little rider in the not too distant future.

Time trial: 1. Michael Maunder 6.04 sprint 25.04.  2. Kris Breadon 6.22 25.38.  3.   Justin Spunner 7.10 27.49, 4. Trent Tapscott 7.22 28.37, 5. Matthew Young 7.29 30.26. 6. Michael Mumford 7.30 31.08.

The Gippsland Criterium cycling event held at Sale will be one to be remembered as Wayne Kestle very nearly lapped the best riders Gippsland could offer in an awesome display.  Late in the race Wayne broke away with Leongatha rider Troy Warren.  These two set about putting time into the bunch who were trying not to let these two run away with the race.  With three laps to go Warren blew up with over half a laps advantage over the field.  Kestle was left to go for home on his own and came home with a comfortable 40 seconds over the main field.  Warren however nearly didn’t make it as he struggled to the line in top gear at only 20kph after using up his last reserves to hold Kestle’s wheel.  David McFarlane finished third in winning the bunch sprint with Warragul’s Aaron Nobelius rolling through in the bunch after also having been off the front of the bunch for much of the race.

Back to race list