Lillico Victories For The Walker Boys


Warragul Cycling club raced at the hilly Lillico circuit on a cold and rainy Saturday afternoon.

In A grade Shane Stiles allowed the field of five to stay with him for 2 laps then decided some individual time trial practice was in order. He left the others confused and squabbling about whom should chase as he rode away to win by two and a half minutes. Second was Mark Oakley Brown with Geoff Thomson in third place. Shane is rapidly developing into a grade on his own and may need to give the other A graders a head start in the future.

As usual in B grade, Chris Beales decided he would take it upon himself to warm the bunch up with an early breakaway. After 10km on his own he was hauled in by the chasers who then dawdled the second lap so slowly that the pace and conversation in the bunch resembled an easy training ride rather than a race. Rob Monk worked off the front up the drive-in hill the third time but no-one seemed too keen to break away. It was only when Kane Walker decided to try his new bike for attacking speed that the race really started. He took off up the drive-in hill the last time and this saw the end of Paul Yeatman and Brett Rowlinson. Ross Henry and Rob Monk struggled to get back on along Number One road and it was clear that Kane, Tim Lee and Chris Beales had the most left for the finish. Rob tried to use his superior descending speed to surprise the bunch after the turn into finishing straight but the break was short lived Kane Walker charged across the gap and kept going straight past. He was able to crest the rise before the finish line with only Chris Beales still on his wheel. Beales threw everything at Kane in the run to the line but Kane held on for his first B grade win. He has not lost a race on his new bike. Ross Henry finished third with Tim Lee in fourth spot.

In C grade Neil Walker made it “two from two” for the Walker family. Neil held off Roger Bell whose race started disastrously when he punctured on the start line. He was allowed to join the race after riding the first lap in reverse to meet the field. In third spot was the improving Graeme Patrick with Dave Axford in forth,

The D grade race was close all the way. Brendan Pridmore was just too strong for Tammy Patrick at the finish. These two broke away from Liz Watson and Pam Benstead.

Next weeks race is at Shady Creek.

Back to race list