Walker Blitzes Time Trial While Peter Tsibelis Takes The Race


Warragul Cycling Club members made the long trek to the old Sale Rd circuit on Saturday for a time trial followed by a short scratch race.

In the time trial the rapidly improving Kane Walker showed the more experienced riders how it was done posting the fastest time of the day. Kane rode the 14.8km in 23:55 giving an average speed of just over 37km/hr. Second was Trent Brown (24:30) and third was Paul Yeatman and Peter Tsibelis (24.48). Junior riders Cy Monk and Tristan Walker had their first race against the clock and both did well.

In the scratch races the D grade girls had a chat for the first 3 laps and then raced for home. In the end it was Liz Watson who was too strong for Tammy Patrick with Pam Benstead in 3rd spot.

In C grade Neil Walker and Matt Kennelly managed to break away from the field going around the top turn for the last time. They established a winning break on Dave Axford, Graeme Patrick and Geoff Gatt. In the sprint neither rider wanted to lead. Neil and Matt almost came to a standstill with 200 meters to go. Finally Matt jumped for the line but was in too big a gear to get moving and Neil sprinted away for an easy win.

Paul Yeatman proved the excellent time trial form was no fluke in the scratch race by surprising the more fancied Steve Twining and Pete Finlayson in the sprint. Drug tests were called for as Paul has not shown this form for quite awhile. He claims his form is the result of hard training rather than ergonomic aids. editor note.  Yah, I really should do intervals more consistently.

In A grade all eyes were on Kane Walker but the hard time trial had obviously damaged his brain. Kane despite riding the course 4 times claimed he didn’t know where the finish line was because “all the corners look the same”. Visiting rider Peter Tsibelis just pipped Trent Brown for the win with the brain damaged Kane in third spot.

Next week’s race is at Cloverlea. Juniors at 1.00pm and Seniors at 2.00pm.

Back to race list