Yellow Jersey Decided


Warragul Cycling Club members braved cold and windy conditions at Cloverlea to contest the final two stages of the Tour De Baw Baw. First up on Saturday was a 7km time trial into a blasting Southerly along Parkers Road .

The fastest time was recorded by Rolland Elstrom from LVCC. Rolland won A grade.

The B grade tour was close and prior to the 4th stage Rob Monk, led Steve Muggeridge by just one point. Rob, a noted time trial hater, was always going to struggle in the “race of truth”. Steve won just from Matt Kennelly with Callan Barker in third spot. In C grade Trevor Rollinson was too strong for Wayne Tunks while in D grade Pam Benstead and Cy Monk staged an epic battle up the finishing straight after Pam took a minute out of Cy along Parkers Road .

The final race of the tour was a scratch race around the Cloverlea circuit. All grades started together and remained together rounding the top corner but Cy Monk, Trev Rollinson and Wayne Tunks decided to drop off and go a bit easier. Cy finished well to take the best young rider Jersey . Trev and Tunksy rode a couple of extra laps with Trev too strong in the run to the line. In A grade Shane Stiles was pitted against two Latrobe Valley riders, Roland Elsdon and tour leader Andrew McKernan. Shane was happy to share the pace making with others in the first lap and a half but eventually he could contain himself no longer and decided to attack. Into the strong head wind along Parkers Road he took off with the LCCC pair in pursuit. Roland and Andrew worked together until the finish but just could not get over to Shane who recorded a strong win.

The B grade race was a tactical, stop start affair. Dave Bailey and Callan Barker tried a few moves off the front and new rider David Werbsczuk was keen to chase down any moves. Monk and Muggeridge were rarely seen at the front. The race looked destined to end in a bunch sprint as no-one wanted to lead into the head wind along Parkers road the last time. Sensing this hesitation Dave Bailey and Matt Kennelly launched an attack. The bunch didn’t respond. Monk, Muggeridge and Brett Williams were banking on the inexperience Werbsczuk and Barker to bring the breakaway back. They had seriously miscalculated. Rounding the home corner Williams tried to jump over the gap but he’d only made it half way was left floundering in no-mans land. Finally Rob Monk tried to jump across the gap. He powered past Brett but could not bridge all the way to Kennelly and Bailey. Muggeridge was locked onto his wheel but was reluctant to do any chasing as he was leading the series and didn’t need to take the stage to win the tour. Matt Kennelly was too good for Dave Bailey in the sprint for first and Steve Muggeridge finished too strongly for Rob taking third in the stage and first in the B grade Tour.

Jersey winners:

  • A Grade – Andrew McKernan
  • B Grade – Steve Muggeridge
  • C Grade – Trevor Rollinson
  • D Grade – Pam Benstead
  • Juniors – Cy Monk.

Great supporter of the WCC, Wilf Tampolini from Drouin Cycles was on hand to present the winners with their Yellow Jerseys. Wilf has also sponsored the stylish looking new race numbers. WCC members are encouraged to support Drouin Cycles to repay his generous sponsorship.

Next weeks race is a points race around the Lillico circuit. The race is sponsored by Lillico wines and riders will finish at the winery for a coffee or something stronger after the race. The points race format is an interesting one were everyone gets to be involved in 6 to 8 full gas sprints in one race. Riders are encouraged to come along for the ride.

Back to race list