Lillico Points Race


Warragul Cycling Club members braved cold and windy conditions on Saturday to compete in the Lillico Wines Points race. The points race format involves riders contesting a sprint for points each 5km in a 40km race. It is fast and furious racing.

In A grade Shane Style and James Henry battled out most sprints with Shane taking the lead out position and making sure James had to hang on for at least 400 meters to win a sprint. Mark Oakley Brown stuck on all race and managed to take the final sprint. Shane took most points from James with Mark in third spot.

The B grade race was started a brisk pace with Dave Bailey trying to make it hard for the sprinters by pushing the pace on the hills. Rob Monk won two of the first three sprints but could not stand the tempo on the hills and dropped out. Callum Barker also struggled with the early speed and retired. Visiting rider Duncan Orr was keen to take off 500 meters from the sprint lines which made it tough on everyone. He managed to get some second placings but Matt Kennelly did well to stay with him on most occasions and took out 4 of the 8 sprints to claim overall victory. Tied for second spot was Dave Bailley and Duncan Orr. Trev Rollinson hung in there for the whole race and finished fourth overall.

In C grade Graeme Patrick battled it out with the wiley Wayne Tunks for most of the sprints. Tunksey won two sprints to Graeme’s four. Tammy Patrick finished third overall.

Cy Monk took all the points in D Grade.

Next week’s race is a Gippsland combine race at Darnum. Big fields are expected so get there early.

Back to race list