Race of Truth


A lucky thirteen riders fronted up at Cloverlea to test themselves against the clock on what was to be a chilly but relatively calm afternoon.   The format for today’s was an individual time trial meaning that each rider has nowhere to hide, no one to pace themselves against (unless they get passed or pass someone) and the fastest rider gets the glory.

The competitors began in reverse order of predicted speed, with D grade starting first.  Each minute another rider would begin the two laps of Cloverlea for a total of 22.76km.

First to head off was Joe Patrick followed by fellow D grader Renee Patrick.  Joe proved the stronger of the two speeding up in lap two to claim first.  Cyrus Monk began with no warmup due to a late entry and claimed second place from Renee.

C grade saw a promotion of Steve Muggeridge to B post race.  This allowed Karen Munroe to claim first from Brian Munroe.  Karen posted a time that would have secured her a third in B grade.  Both riders appeared to fade in the final lap.

B grade saw Steve Muggeride take off ahead of Simon Baxter.  Next off was James Lalor and a late late start by Rob Monk who apparently was worn out from his win last week.  Simon rode well and came first ahead of Steve and James.  Nobody in B grade who took part in last week’s 3 Day Tour could best their ITT time from last week.  Both Simon and James’ second laps were faster then their first.

A grade was to be a fairly predictable affair with Paul Yeatman starting ahead of James Henry and Thomas Sander.  Paul had a standard helmet, while James and Thomas had pointy time trial helmets.  All three had dedicated time trial machines. Yeatman was passed by Henry with just under a lap to go.  This spurred Paul on who tried his best to keep up with James, only loosing a little time to James for the rest of the race.  Thomas powered along taking time out of both Paul and James but was unable to catch either of these riders.  Thomas came first ahead of James and then Paul.  Paul was the only rider to improve on his average speed from the previous week’s ITT.

The club ITT championships in a few weeks should be an exciting event.

A big thank you goes to the time keepers Kathy, Angela, Tammy and Marnie and also our corner marshal.

Time From Winner Calculations

Rider Grade Time From Winner

Starting off
Thomas Sander A 00:00:00
James Henry A 00:00:19
Paul Yeatman A 00:01:35
Simon Baxter B 00:02:27
Steve Muggeridge B 00:02:55
Karen Munroe C 00:06:16
James Lalor B 00:07:41
Rob Monk B 00:07:57
Joe Patrick D 00:08:43
Brian Munroe C 00:10:23
Cyrus Monk D 00:13:16
Renee Patrick D 00:15:40

Back to race list