Windless Conditions Sees A Fast Handicap


Sunny and calm conditions with a steady temperature over the race of 14 degrees C greeted Warragul Cycling Club members for Saturday’s handicap race at Cloverlea.

With regular handicapper Rob Monk sunning himself in Queensland, Steve Muggeridge took over and devised a race where the many of the riders were to start at 60 second intervals for four laps of the flattish Cloverlea Circuit. This meant a rider could ether time trial until they caught those in front or take the softer option of waiting to be caught before applying some effort.

Jayden Manintveld began the race followed by Dean Berry at 5 minutes and then at one minute intervals, Paul Kennedy, Dean Macintosh, Tim Lee, Joe Patrick, Matt Kennelly, Neil Walker, Ross Henry, Justin Prestidge, Jason Dastey, Chris Broeren, Paul Yeatman, Thommo, Shane Stiles and scratch man wearing black, Kane Walker along with Renee Patrick who was racing over three laps.

Most of the riders took of at a sensible pace. Paul powered away and paid for it on lap two. K. Walker took it easy on Renee for a bit before settling in for the kill.

As the race went on, the chase group built. Kane and Shane picked up Thommo and Yeatman along lap two who in turn collected Jason and Justin. Towards the start of lap three this bunch was joined by C Broeren who had inadvertently ridden to Yarragon on lap one. By the lap three turn into Hazeldean Road, Yeatman was off the back.

Over the next two laps, the train of riders cleaned up the rest of the out markers. With 800m to go, Kennedy tried to sneak a win but was not allowed to get away. Thommo, as tenacious as ever took out the win from Chris, with Justin in third. Next to cross the line were Shane Joe, Matt and Ross.

The lantern rouge was picked up by Yeatman to add to his collection fast growing handicap collection.

Next week’s club race is the Club Championships. The rumour mill says something about a mass start. Non club riders are welcome to join in.

Back to race list