Pros Turn Out For Warragul Race


While some riders were inspired by watching the pros going around in Adelaide in the Tour Down Under some stayed home to watch the pros on the TV and missed the club race.

A couple of WCC’s own pros made a rare appearance at a club race. James Henry who rides for Team Apollo and Kane Walker who rides for Genesys turned up to give the local boys a workout. Kane has recently competed against the likes of Robbie McEwen and Simon Gerrans at the Jayco Bay Crits as well as participating in the national road titles in Ballarat.

Kane took it easy on the 13 rider A grade field for the first half of the race but eventually he picked up the pace and with a minor effort for him, managed to split the field after 35 minutes. Only James Henry, Chris Joustra, Brett Rollinson and Zander Hitchcock could go with him. Scott Keeble and Scott Winterton chased hard for a lap but the Walker led break was moving away at speed.

Kane went into training mode and towed the bunch around for the final two laps. He then let his breakaway companions fight out the sprint. James showed he has lost none of his finishing kick after a lay off from racing. He was too quick for Brett Rollinson with Hitchcock taking third. Joustra sprinted {?} home in front of Kane for fourth.

B and C grade combined to make a bunch of 10 riders. Cy Monk and Jayden Manitveld forced the pace up the hill most laps but strong men Ross Henry, Paul Yeatman and Graeme Patrick were always able to reel them in along the back straight where a block head wind favoured the tough riders. George Tambassis survived with the lead group for forty minutes this week but Cy’s attacks and Simon Baxter’s ability to keep the pressure on meant George was dropped from the lead group. In the sprint Greame Patrick led out with Henry, Baxter and Monk poised to pounce. Baxter had the superior speed to just hold off a fast finishing Cy Monk with Ross taking out third and Jayden Maniveld in fourth. Greame was awarded the win in C grade but give he was able to hold onto the B graders for the whole race he wins promotion. Second in C grade was John Davine.

In D grade Andrew DaBona continues to improve and was too strong for Rodey Abel and Nic Anderson.

A big thank you to Angela Coles who took entries and ran the race today.

Back to race list