“Sit On” Sprinters Win the Day


A grade Pair Brenton Jones and Shane Stiles corner in Saturday’s Criterium Race

It was a day for the fast finishers at the Burke St Circuit. Breakaways were doomed to failure as big fields and determined chasers meant the “sit on” sprinters would dominate the races.

In A grade a small but elite field of six riders lapped at over 38km/h for the entire race. The relentless pace eventually cracked the field as Brenton Jones and Shane Stiles rode away from Danny Dilger, Brett Rollinson and Jarryd Jones.

Zander Hitchcock’s race was ruined when he punctured after 20 minutes. Rollinson, Jones and Dilger nearly managed to get over to Stiles and BJ with 2 laps to go but nearly is not good enough. In the sprint finish BJ was just too quick for Stiles. Jarryd Jones just held off a fast finishing Brett Rollinson for third.

Paul Yeatman leading the B graders through a turn

B grade had a field of sixteen riders and no-one was able to break away for long. The major disruptions to race order were riders taking a lap out for mechanical faults. Ross Henry, Scott Walkeden, and Charlie Davine all had a lap out during the race.

Rob Monk and Scott Keeble tried to break the race up in the last 15 minutes with the help of James Lalor and Cy Monk but they were quickly chased down. Only Paul Yeatman and Col Brown were displaced from the bunch.

Going up the Burke St Hill the last time Cy Monk took off and established a small break. He was not overtaken until the final bend when Trev Rollinson decided to make sure the sprinters had to work for their prize. Trev made sure the last kilometre was raced at top speed. When Trev tired with 200 meters to go Charlie Davine made his way to the front for the first time in the race. He sprinted clear of Andrew Nicolls and took the win. Rob Monk was third with his son Cy Monk taking forth in his first B(+) grade start.

Juniors Jack Walk and Jayden Maniveld break way in C grade

C grade had a bunch of thirteen riders. They stayed together for four laps until Ray York and Colin Manitveld found the pace too hot to handle and were dropped.

Junior riders Jack Walk and Jayden Manitveld pushed the pace on the hill and gapped the group mid race. They were allowed to dangle off the front as the experienced riders like Neil Walker, Graeme Patrick, Terry Kelly and Matt Kennelly shared the pace making for two laps.

When the race came back together at the bell the sprinters were still fresh. George Tambassis showed his inexperience by jumping for home too early. He led from the front with 400 meters to race with riders lined up on his wheel. Matt Kennelly judged the sprint perfectly to take the win from Jayden Maniveld and Neil Walker. George held on for forth.

Andrew DeBona soloing to victory

In D grade the junior riders broke up early. By the end of lap one Andrew DeBona was time trailing away from Matheson Jenkins, Mitch Jones and Nick Anderson. This order was maintained throughout the race.

Photos from the race can be seen here.

Back to race list