Warragul CC Dominates Stratford to Bairnsdale


Warragul Cycling club riders took to the road for the Queen of the Gippsland Classic on Sunday. The Annual Stratford to Bairnsdale is traditionally run on ANZAC day but this year busy roads after the Easter holiday forced a change in schedule.

The Stratford to Bairnsdale attracts racing cyclists from all over Gippsland. This year was no different with entries from Bairnsdale, Wellington, Latrobe and Warragul Cycling Clubs. Over 70 riders took part. While all clubs were represented it was Warragul that dominated in A, B and C grade.

In A grade it was a Warragul quinella with Brenton Jones taking the sprint win from Shane Stiles. Latrobe City rider Sam Beverage finished third.

In B grade Warragul Riders filled the first 4 places. Graeme Parker took the biggest win of his short career in a wild sprint. Second was Geoff Thomson, third Pete Finlayson and fourth Rob Monk.
In C grade Warragul riders took out the first 5 placings. Col Brown unleashed the fury in the sprint to power away from Neil Walker. Clint Wilson sprinted well to take third. Graeme Patrick finished fourth with Trudy Gallagher in fifth.

Next Saturday Warragul riders will be on the road again with racing on at the Phillip Island Grand Prix circuit.

Back to race list