ANZ Baw Baw Classic


A record number of riders contested the 2012 ANZ Baw Baw Classic road race. The mild conditions resulted in some fast times. Official results can be found here. A race report can be found here. A summary of the 2012 race is provided below.

A grade sponsored by Baw Baw Resort

Nathan Earle (Hobart Wheelers CC) racked up his 3rd win in a time of 03:20:23 – a record for the current course. Blake Hose (Geelong CC) was second (+1:32) and Jason Spencer, third (+1:33).

Women sponsored by Baw Baw Resort

In the women’s race, Miranda Griffith (St Kilda CC) made it two in a row in a time of 03:58:02. Heidi Buntrock (st Kilda CC) and Elizabeth Hall (Hawthorn CC) were next across the line.

B Grade sponsored by Blackwoods Garden Supplies

Edward Powell (Melbourne Univerisity CC) claimed first place in 03:39:43, followed by Aaron Blomeley (Ballarat/Sebastapol CC) and Mark Kelly (Horsham CC).

C Grade sponsored by Wakefield and Vogrig Lawers

C Grade saw James Gray (Hawthorn CC) cross the line after 03:53:56 in the saddle. Second was James Rickard (Coburg CC) six seconds behind and Greg Castelow (St Kilda CC) a few minutes back.

MMAS123 sponsored by WHK Accoutants

Tom Leaper (Blackburn CC) took out first place in masters 123 in a time of 03:44:41. Michael Tolhurst (Canberra CC) came in second a minte back with the 2010 winner, Ciaran Jones (Carnegie Caufield CC) another minute back in third.

MMAS4+ sponsored by ANZ

Masters 4+ was won by Danny Kah (Carnegie Caufield CC) in 03:51:38. David Sturt (Carnegie Caufield CC) came in next and was followed by Anthony Chandler (Blackburn CC) who had won the previous three years.

Well done to everyone who competed and a big thanks to the volunteers who run this event. Official results will be posted this evening.