Club Does Well in Baw Baw Classic


By Rob Monk

It was Baw Baw Classic Weekend and this means hundreds of racing cyclists from around Australia arrive at Warragul to tackle the famous Mt Baw Baw climb.

Rated as one of toughest climbs in Australia the final 6.5km from the old ticket box to the Baw Baw Village is a truly brutal test of cycling. And the 95km leading up to it are not easy either.

Warragul was well represented in most grades.

Cy Monk was having his first A grade race and finished a creditable 21st. Cy was with the leaders at the base of the final climb but could not go with some of the best cyclist in Australia on the final climb. Brodie Talbot who won the Tour of South Australia in the National Road Series last week continued his good form and won the race.

Warragul’s Samantha Abbott continued her great form taking victory in the C grade women’s race.

Peter Dennis was second in Masters A.

Leigh Hauxwell was third in Masters B.

Warragul was well represented in C grade with most riders completing the race after over 4 hours in the saddle.  Yeatman’s saying his 13km break away shortly after the start ended early thanks to a rear tyre that deflated to 40psi.

Well done to all riders who completed this gruelling race.


A Grade Men

1. 50 Brodie TALBOT (Macarthur Collegians) 3h21:37
21. 18 Cyrus MONK (ParkTrent Men’s Team) +9:08

C Grade Women

1. 210 Samantha ABBOTT (Warragul) 4h31:15

Masters A Grade Men

1. 101 Cameron CLAMP (Hawthorn) 3h39:24
2. 105 Peter DENNIS (Warragul) +29

Masters B Grade Men

1. 168 Steve GUY (Hawthorn) 3h50:41
3. 177 Leigh HAUXWELL (Warragul) +1:06
19. 172 Jayman PRESTIDGE (Warragul) +1h13:11

Masters C Grade Men

1. 224 Andrew GRAY (Coburg) 4h00:21
4. 254 Roland ELSDON (Latrobe City) +6:08
20. 251 Alan MCCULLOCH (Warragul) +25:50
25. 222 Ross HENRY (Warragul) +30:30
26. 235 Geoffrey THOMSON (Warragul) +34:51
27. 237 Robert WADDELL (Warragul) +40:09
28. 232 Shane WAKKER (Warragul) +41:32
29. 239 Peter BAILEY (Warragul) +43:35
30. 226 Rob MONK (Warragul) +44:52
33. 256 Roger BELL (Warragul) +1h00:15
35. 234 Paul YEATMAN (Warragul) +1h04:26
37. 238 Andrew JACKSON (Warragul) +1h06:25
38. 248 Graeme PATRICK (Warragul) +1h08:13
George Tambassis suffered back spasms and could not finish.

A big thanks to everyone who helped set up, stood on a corner, manned the feed station and drove support vehicles.  We are also grateful to the following companies and businesses who sponsored or supported the race:

A warm and sunny start
A warm and sunny start


Mt Baw Baw Alpine Resort Naming rights sponsor 2013-2015, Men’s A winner jersey, Women’s A winner jersey
G.T & J.A. Jones Engineering Pty Ltd Men’s B winner jersey
Warragul Linen Service Men’s C winner jersey
Gippsland Precision Engineering Women’s B winner jersey
KSJ Event Management Running the event, Women’s C winner jersey
Oliver’s Real Food Master’s A winner jersey
Wakefield & Vogrig Lawyers Master’s B winner jersey
Gary Blackwood MLA Master’s C winner jersey
Champion System jersey production
metarace event timing, race numbers
Yeatman event signage design, winner jersey design, facebook social medial, twitter social media, competitor’s guide, marshal map, dedicated website, pre event advertising posters

Back to race list.