Dead Heat In The Main Event


by Rob Monk

Warragul City Motors Criterium Series
Warragul City Motors Criterium Series

Big fields contested race two of the Warragul Cycling Clubs Warragul City Motors Criterium Series.

The A grade race was fiercely contested. It started fast and continued that way. The first 5 laps were the fastest ever done on the Endeavor Street circuit. They were certainly too fast for Rob Monk and Jayman Prestidge who were both dropped. The main instigators were Jayden Manintveld, Cyrus Monk, Shane Stiles and Brett Rollinson.

Matt Parkinson picked a good time to escape and took the intermediate sprint while off the front. Jayden was second. After consistent attacks in the second half of the race only 6 of the 13 starters would finish on the same lap as the leaders.

Shane Stiles led our the fastest sprint seen at Endeavor Street. The final result was a thrilling dead heat between Cyrus Monk and Jarryd Jones, Jayden Manintveld was third. Brett Rollinson was fourth and Matt Parkinson fifth.

A big B grade field rode at a solid tempo. Jason Tubnor, Paul Yeatman, Jason Dastey, and Tex Walker were keen to animate the race but unfortunately when one of them went off the front the others would chase him down. Young speedster Mitch Jones was happy to watch them attacking each other and then smashed them in the intermediate sprint. Daniel Bishop was second. Did they learn from this? No. Jones had to work harder in the finish but still was too fast for Paul Yeatman and Jason Tubnor. Jason Surace was fourth with Daniel Bishop fifth.

The C grade field of thirteen riders stayed together for most of the race. Duane McDonald was always available to bring the race back together if someone had ideas of the getting off the front. Dave Smith won the intermediate spring from new racer Evan Campbell. Evan got a bit excited in the final sprint and went for home a little too early. He was swamped by Hayden Johnson in first, Connor Bagot second, Zvonko Maric third. First female was Kobi Merchant in 4th place overall. Evan was fifth.

The D grade race was hotly contested. The Young Leongatha duo Thomas and Bernadette Fitzgerald were strong throughout. They won the intermediate sprint easily. Frank Bensted and Bruce Evanson made sure the pace was high and the youngster would be working hard. Annie Pryjmak, Linda Tubnor, Adele Whelan and Kristy Rollinson rode strongly and will be pushing for a podium spot soon. At the finish Bruce Evanson was too strong in the final sprint for Thomas and Bernadette Fitzgerald. Brydie Clark was fourth and Linda Tubnor fifth.

Racing returns to Burke St next Saturday at 2PM

Back to race list.