WCC Club Criterium Championships


by Jason Tubnor

Thirty-four riders contested the Warragul Cycling Club criterium championships at the Burke st circuit on Saturday afternoon.

In the open race not many were keen to jump in and take on the Jones boys. Brenton Jones and Jarryd Jones towed the rest of the field around for a few laps. They were joined by Juniors Mitch Jones and Connor Bagot. In an exciting finish, Brenton led out from a long way back and tried to ride Jarryd off his wheel. He didn’t succeed and Jarryd was able to just pass Brenton on the line to take the championship. Brenton was second with Leigh Jamieson third.

In the women’s Club Championship Mariah Dastey put in a dominant display. She managed to ride away from the others 10 minutes into the race and solo for the next 40 minutes to victory. Robyn Baker was second and Linda Tubnor was third.

In the Junior race, Mitch Jones was too quick for Connor Bagot making it a great day for the Jones boys.

A field of 11 contested the Masters 123 race. This is for riders aged between 30 and 45. After a reasonably steady start Matt Parkinson unleashed some power in the back straight and strung out the field. Josh Akarsu and Brett Rollinson sensed that this was the critical moment and went with Parkinson. Jason Dastey tried to go with the big boys coming out of the corner near the leisure centre but couldn’t close the gap. Brett Kennedy let Jason tire himself out trying then jumped across solo. Kennedy, Rollinson, Parkinson and Akarsu cleared out and were not caught by the eight chasers. In the four-person sprint, Brett Kennedy went early and Josh was forced to lead up the chasers. In the strong cross wind, he hugged the center line of the road meaning anyone who would pass him either had to go on the windward side and give him cover or risk disqualification and cross the centre line. Matt Parkinson crossed the line to pass both Brett Rollinson and Josh. He was first to finish but after much discussion was disqualified. Rollinson finished second but after the disqualification was awarded the win. Final placings were Brett Rollinson first, Josh Akarsu second, Brett Kennedy third.

The biggest field of the day was the old men’s masters group. The over 45 men rolled around slowly for the first 20 minutes then gradually picked up the pace. George Tambassis, Pete Whelan, Rob Monk and Graeme Parker put in some attacks and the field of 12 was quickly down to 6 in the lead group. With a few laps of solid pace making it was clear a sprint was on the cards so the pace again slackened. At the bell Graeme Parker put the pace on up the King St Hill and had everyone in the red zone. Monk and Tambassis were not letting him go though. Graeme put in a big turn along the back straight and again had riders grovelling to get on the wheel. Steve Muggeridge was first to head for home in the finishing straight but Monk was quickly onto his wheel. Tambassis put the power down 300 meters from home and Monk switch onto his wheel. Tambassis looked the winner until he started to struggle with 50 meters to go. Monk was just able to pass him and take the win. Tambassis was second with Col Brown finishing well for third.

Racing resumes in 2017 on Sunday 15th of January with a five-race criterium Series at the popular Burke St circuit. We also have Wednesday night twilight racing starting on the 25th of January.

Get on your bike this Xmas-New Year period.

Are you up for the Festive 500 challenge? Warragul Cycling Club has organised the rides to help you achieve the Festive 500 Challenge.

The festive 500 challenge is run by STRAVA. Riders need to complete 500km between Xmas Eve and New Year’s Eve. Last year some 71,000 cyclists signed up for the challenge. They rode over 16,000,000 kilometres.

The WCC festive 500 rides kick off on Saturday 24th of December and runs every day until New Year’s Eve. If you do all the rides, you will complete the Festive 500 challenge.

Rides leave at 7.00am or 7.05am from the Clocktower in Warragul.

The 7.00am group will ride at 6.00am Tuesday-Thursday speed, 33 to 38km/h per hour with a “we won’t wait much” mindset.

The 7.05 group will ride at Wed, Friday, Sunday 8.15 pace. They will wait for you if you are struggling but will want to keep the pace above 26km/h.

See Warragul Cycling Club Facebook page for details and maps of the rides.

There is no better antidote to Christmas overindulgence than exercise.

Back to race list.