Stiles wins PRT Series

The series win was up for grabs as riders contested the final race of the Parkinson’s Refrigerated Transport Handicap series.  The scratch crew were denied last week and they would not be beaten again.

Donna Innes Wardell started first with 15 minutes start on scratch. Chasing her 3 minutes later was Col Manintveld. Col thought his chances of staying away from the chasers was pretty poor so he decided to join forces with Donna and see if they could stay away. Continue reading “Stiles wins PRT Series”

Fritzy Wins after a long spell

A small field braved windy conditions for Race 2 of the Parkinson’s Refrigerated Transport Series at Darnum on Saturday.

The handicapper decided to up the ante for the scratch group this week. Scratch quartet of Shane Stiles. Rob Monk, Jayman Prestidge and Bryce Edhouse had to chase down a 6 minute gap to get to the next group.

Jason Fritzlaff, Connor Bagot and Ryan McGregor teamed well and within three laps had caught the 9 min group of Zvonko Maric and Jarrod Croxford. Zvonko and Jarrod worked in well with Fritzy, Connor and Ryan meaning the scratch men were chasing a bunch of five. Continue reading “Fritzy Wins after a long spell”

Joustra Fired Up By The Handicapper

Windy and cold conditions greeted riders for Race 1 of the Parkinson’s Refrigerated Transport Handicap Series.

The limit group of Frank Bensted, Colin Manintveld and Donna Innes-Waddel set off with 11 minutes head start on scratch. Colin covered barely 500 meters before he punctured. Next away with 9 minutes head start were Zvonko Maric, Duane McDonald and Simon Forbes. DeMac had put in a big week on Zwift, an indoor training system. Their is no wind on Zwift and only virtual hills. He struggled with the reality of how fast Zvonko and Simon could go up the hills and was dropped early. Continue reading “Joustra Fired Up By The Handicapper”

Blue Team overcomes seat loss to win Teams Race

The teams race is always a game of chess on wheels.

The red team’s opening Gambit was to attack the other teams and hopefully spring Zvonko Maric and Jarrod Croxford free. They were part of the 6 riders who started with a six minutes in front of the rest of the field. Maric and Croxford had the Blue Team’s, Duane McDonald and the orange teams Frank Bensted dropped early but they managed to work their way back to the red team breakaway. Continue reading “Blue Team overcomes seat loss to win Teams Race”

Parkinson Wins Club Road Championship

It was Club Road Championship day for Warragul cycling club members on Saturday. The club road championships is always a tough test of racing. The race was 78 kilometres long and included 4 ascents of the Shady creek hill. Strong cross winds before and after the climb added to the struggle.

The race started as a sedate tempo until the base of the Shady Creek hill on lap one. Bryce Edhouse thought he was Alberto Contador and set a hard tempo at the base of the climb. He had everyone quickly in the red zone and Pete MacDonald and Leigh Jamieson were dropped and were unable to return. Jayman Prestidge and Connor Bagot also found themselves distanced at the top of the hill but managed to catch the group on the descent. Continue reading “Parkinson Wins Club Road Championship”

Scatch Men Too Quick in the Rain

Sixteen brave souls turned out for a handicap race at Darnum on Saturday. Cold conditions were exacerbated by rain after the race started. Four bunches contested. The limit group of Geoff Thomson, Peter MacDonald, Sean Donaldson and Colin Manintveld set off with 8 minutes head start on scratch. They were caught after 2 laps by the 4 minute group of Rob Monk, Graeme Parker, Pete Whelan, Jayman Prestidge and Bryce Edhouse.

The limit group of Terry Kelly and Donna Innes Wardel were rounded up early. They started with scratch but were only doing 5 laps. Kelly managed to sit on the back of the 4 minute bunch quite comfortably. Peter MacDonald as the only limit group rider able to contribute to the pace making. Thommo provided guidance and encouragement from the back of the bunch. Continue reading “Scatch Men Too Quick in the Rain”

Time Trial Championships

The Warragul Cycling Club Time trial championships were contested on Saturday 9th of July. Cold, wet and windy conditions meant the fields were small.

The club champion and fastest time of the day was Paul Yeatman. Yeatman, a time trial specialist has been unlucky in this event in recent years and he thoroughly deserved his win and the title of club time champion.

Second fastest time of the day went to Jayman Prestidge. Jayman is the M123 Champion. Danny Dilger was third fastest and took the Silver Medal in the M123 category. Rob Monk was the Silver Medalist in the M4+ category and Glen Marriott rounded out the podium in M123 taking the bronze medal.

Series winners determined

Warragul Cycling Club members combined with Latrobe City and Leongatha Cycling Clubs to contest the final race of the Warragul City Motors combine series on Saturday. The race started in cool but dry and windless conditions at Darnum.

The A grade race animated from the start when Latrobe City Duo Chris Joustra and Daniel Furmston got away. They toiled for two laps off the front. Shane Stiles eventually marshalled the troops to chase them down. With a lap to go Paul Collins got off the front and established a good lead before the bunches fourth and final ascent of the Shady Creek hill. This meant the pace for the chasers would be on. Furmston went full gas from the bottom and got across to Collins. Stiles strung out the rest of the field and Craig Taylor, Danny Gaffa and Glenn Marriott were dropped. With some frenetic chasing the managed to get back on by the top of Sturs Rd. Chris Jousta launched his inevitable series of late attacks but the other took it in turns to chase him back. Furmston was way too quick in the uphill sprint and took the win easily. Danny Gaffa may not be at the top of his form but he is still fast at the finish. He took second spot with Glenn Marriott in third. Craig Taylor was fourth and Joustra fifth. Continue reading “Series winners determined”

Top Conditions for Racing

Near perfect conditions greeted cyclists for race one of the Warragul City Motors Gippsland Combine series.

48 riders in total contested the races across four grades.

In A grade a small but elite field of ten riders set off at a quick pace. Shane Stiles and Brett Kennedy were keen to keep the pace high but Leongatha trio of Will Lumby, Colin Sing and Harry McLean were not keen to let any breaks get up the road. Latrobe pair Chris Joustra and Daniel Furmston were in everything for most of the race. As is often the way at Cloverlea the race was decided in a sprint finish. Matt Parkinson towed the bunch around for the final lap then Shane “Rupert” Stiles won the sprint with a limp wristed flourish from Will Lumby and Daniel Furmston. Harry McLean was fourth and Brett Kennedy fifth. Continue reading “Top Conditions for Racing”

Team Leongatha too good

The green team from Leongatha took the win in the Warragul Cycling Clubs team’s race on Saturday on the Cloverlea circuit.

The teams race format is a combination of scratch race and handicap with the first 20 finishers accumulating points for their team. Each team had two riders in the limit group who started 12 minutes before the fast men. Frank Bensted from the orange team and Hayden Johnstone from the Blue team drove the limit bunch along at a solid pace. Continue reading “Team Leongatha too good”